University of Notre Dame

Italian Studies

Contact

Program

LibAcq4

 

2011 Rome Seminar
Glocal Italy / Italia Glocale
13 June – 1 July 2011
Villa Mirafiori, Via Carlo Fea

 

Week 1: Histories and Geographies

Monday, June 13

Tuesday, June 14

Wednesday, June 15

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  Italy and Islam in the Renaissance [Lecture]: Margaret Meserve
  • 3:00pm - 5:30pm  -  Italy and Islam in the Renaissance [Seminar]: Margaret Meserve

Thursday, June 16

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  Italy and the ‘New World’ [Lecture]:  Sabine MacCormack
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  Italy and the ‘New World’ [Seminar]:  Sabine MacCormack

 

Week 2: Identities & Political Imaginaries

Monday, June 20

  • 10:00am - 12:00 pm  -  Rinascimento and Risorgimento: Historical and Political Connections [Lecture]: Maurizio Viroli
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  Rinascimento and Risorgimento: Historical and Political Connections [Seminar]: Maurizio Viroli

Tuesday, June 21

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  Italy and the Cartographic History of the GlocalTheodore Cachey
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  Mapping the travelling subjectPiero Boitani

Wednesday, June 22

Thursday, June 23

 

Week 3: The Arts – High Culture & Popular Culture

Monday, June 27

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  Italian Art / European Art / World Art [Lecture]: Ingrid Rowland
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  Italian Art / European Art / World Art [Seminar]: Ingrid Rowland

Tuesday, June 28

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  The Museum in Rome and Beyond [Lecture]: Charles Rosenberg
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  The Museum in Rome and Beyond [Seminar]: Charles Rosenberg
  • 6:30pm - Public Lecture: Nascita e natura della tutela del patrimonio culturale in Italia: Salvatore Settis

Thursday, June 30

  • 10:00am - 12:00pm  -  City & World / Ancient & Modern [Lecture]: Dennis Doordan
  • 2:00pm - 4:30pm  -  City & World / Ancient & Modern [Seminar]: Dennis Doordan
  • 6:00pm - 7:00pm  -  Closing remarks