University of Notre Dame

Italian Studies

Contact

Cambridge Vertical Readings in Dante's Comedy: Workshop on Inferno VII

Thu May 2, 2013 11:30AM - 12:30PM Calendars: Lectures, Seminars, and Workshops

Cambridge Vertical Readings in Dante's Comedy: Workshop on Inferno VII

Thursday May 2 at 11.30am in Room 121, Information Technology Center

Please join us for a workshop via teleconference on Inferno VII with scholars and students from Leeds, Notre Dame and Cambridge at 11:30am, led by Distinguished Fulbright Lecturer, Luca Marcozzi, who is visiting Notre Dame this semester from Roma Tre and LUMSA University where he teaches Italian Literature. You are welcome to bring lunch with you to eat during the workshop and the brief discussion to follow.

A lecture by Simon Gilson (Warwick) on Inferno VII, Purgatorio VII and Paradiso VII will take place at 1pm (EST) in Cambridge and broadcast at a later date. Previous lectures in the series are available for viewing online.

Cambridge Vertical Readings in Dante’s Comedy is a four-year long series of workshops and public lectures organized by the Department of Italian at Cambridge in collaboration with the Leeds Centre for Dante Studies. The lectures explore the “vertical” connections between cantos of the same number across all three canticles. Scholars and students at Cambridge, Leeds and Notre Dame participate in workshops on single cantos via teleconference before each lecture. This is the first time that this method of reading (a method that has been discussed by Dante scholars and executed very successfully in studies of single cantos) will be systematically employed to tackle the entire poem.

 

PROGRAM

 

Thursday 18th October, 2012

Inferno I, Purgatorio I, Paradiso I: lecture by George Corbett and Heather Webb

Workshop on Inferno I

 

Thursday 8th November, 2012

Inferno II, Purgatorio II, Paradiso II: lecture by Matthew Treherne

Workshop on Purgatorio II

 

Thursday 22nd November, 2012

Inferno III, Purgatorio III, Paradiso III: lecture by Vittorio Montemaggi

Workshop on Paradiso III

 

Thursday 31st January, 2013

Inferno IV, Purgatorio IV, Paradiso IV: lecture by John Marenbon

Workshop at 11.30am, Room 121, Information Technology Center, Notre Dame

 

Thursday 14th February, 2013

Inferno V, Purgatorio V, Paradiso V: lecture by Robin Kirkpatrick

Workshop at 11.30am Room 121, Information Technology Center, Notre Dame

 

Thursday 28th February, 2013 

Inferno VI, Purgatorio VI, Paradiso VI: lecture by Claire Honess

Workshop at 11.30am Room 121, Information Technology Center, Notre Dame

 

Thursday 2nd May, 2013

Inferno VII, Purgatorio VII, Paradiso VII: lecture by Simon Gilson

Workshop at 11.30am Room 121, Information Technology Center, Notre Dame

 

Thursday 16th May, 2013

Inferno VIII, Purgatorio VIII, Paradiso VIII

Workshop at 11:30am in Room 121, Information Technology Center, Notre Dame

 

Thursday 24th October, 2013

NINES: Zygmunt Baranski

 

Thursday 7th November, 2013

TENS: Robert Durling

 

Thursday 21st November, 2013 

ELEVENS

 

Thursday 30th January, 2014

TWELVES

 

Thursday 13th February, 2014

THIRTEENS

 

Thursday 27th February, 2014

FOURTEENS: Catherine Keen

 

Thursday 1st May, 2014

FIFTEENS: Simone Marchesi

 

Thursday 15th May, 2014

SIXTEENS

 

Thursday 29th May, 2014

SEVENTEENS

Add to Google Calendar
Download Event