University of Notre Dame

Italian Studies

Contact

Cambridge Vertical Readings in Dante's Comedy: Workshop

Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:30AM - 12:30PM Calendars: Lectures and Workshops

Cambridge Vertical Readings in Dante's Comedy

A four-year workshop and public lecture program hosted by the Department of Italian at Cambridge University.

Beginning October 18th, 2012 and continuing over four years, a team of Dante experts from the U.K. and abroad will carry out a series of public lectures on the Comedy that explore the "vertical" connections between cantos of the same number across all three canticles. This is the first time that this method of reading (a method that has been discussed by Dante scholars and executed very successfully in studies of single cantos) will be systematically employed to tackle the entire poem.

The Department of Italian at Cambridge has partnered with the Dante Centres at Leeds and Italian Studies at Notre Dame for this project; workshops will be led alternately by each of those centers and connected by teleconference. The project has been funded for 2012-2013 by the Department of Italian at Cambridge and CIRN.

PROGRAM FOR 2013

Workshops will be held at 11.30am (EST), and will be broadcast via teleconference. Lectures will begin at 1pm in Cambridge, and they will be available for viewing here.

Thursday 31st January 

Inferno IV, Purgatorio IV, Paradiso IV: lecture by JOHN MARENBON

workshop on Inferno IV led by Italian Studies at Notre Dame 

11.30am by teleconference in Room 121, ITC

Thursday 14th February 

Inferno V, Purgatorio V, Paradiso V: lecture by ROBIN KIRKPATRICK

workshop at 11.30am

Thursday 28th February 

Inferno VI, Purgatorio VI, Paradiso VI: lecture by CLAIRE HONESS

workshop at 11.30am

Thursday 2nd May

Inferno VII, Purgatorio VII, Paradiso VII: lecture by SIMON GILSON

workshop at 11.30am

Thursday 16th May 

Inferno VIII, Purgatorio VIII, Paradiso VIII

Thursday 24th October 

NINES (Zygmunt Baranski)

Thursday 7th November

TENS (Robert Durling)

Thursday 21st November 

ELEVENS

Program for 2014

Thursday 30th January 

TWELVES

Thursday 13th February

THIRTEENS

Thursday 27th February

FOURTEENS (Catherine Keen)

Thursday 1st May

FIFTEENS (Simone Marchesi)

Thursday 15th May

SIXTEENS

Thursday 29th May

SEVENTEENS

Add to Google Calendar
Download Event